Sign in to follow this  
Fesky Maloon

Help to identify “Vuillaume” violin

Hello all,

I am new to Maestronet and am curious if your better trained eyes can help me.  

I inherited this Vuillaume-labeled instrument and I would love some assistance figuring out what it REALLY is.  

If any of you kind souls can give me a clue as to the age/origin/etc. that would be very much appreciated.

Ken

33D62DFE-ED4B-4E46-9367-7F96D9EA3F0D.jpeg

7AFBA61A-4AAB-455F-A1DC-B34236F0EB58.jpeg

7CBB8505-0B78-4A0F-AD38-1210F9BBF8B8.jpeg

B193FCAF-111D-474F-9123-53992F572D7C.jpeg

3082E574-51C3-463C-BADC-C64109450884.jpeg

26F93E13-C1CD-413E-AB5B-1A4278AA7837.jpeg

493C28E9-B558-4D54-AD14-DABA0577FDD5.jpeg

89F00CB7-8E3B-4231-9E20-02A1428540AF.jpeg

60EC3A60-C218-4730-9D94-2575634B46B0.jpeg

It doesn't look French to me ... outside chance it could be, but it looks much more like an early 20th century Saxon violin from where I'm sitting.

Vuillaume more-often-than-not tagged his instruments on the inside on the upper treble bout on the back plate with a very flamboyant signature, easy to see with an inspection light and a dentist mirror (or an endoscope). Sometimes he wrote other things in there too, and sometimes his name is stamped somewhere inside.

If you don't have those tools to look inside, take it to a luthier to have a peek.

If you don't find any of those markings inside then 99.9% chance it's not a real Vuillaume. If you find something - specially the signature - then it might be worth looking further into it but you'll need someone in person to examine it for a proper assessment and appraisal.

2 hours ago, martin swan said:

It doesn't look French to me ... outside chance it could be, but it looks much more like an early 20th century Saxon violin from where I'm sitting.

1 hour ago, zhiyi_zhang617 said:

Likely a (standard) factory-made copy, could be a new Chinese, but semi-sophisticatedly antiqued.