Goran74

7/8 violin plans

Hello. I am planning to make a 7/8 violin. Are there any available plans to buy? For example 7/8 from Amati or Stradivari's King Maximillian? I was searching a lot on the internet but without success. Of course there are some big editions of master makers of tge past but prices are too high for me. Thank you a lot.

3 minutes ago, scordatura said:

I would take a Strad or Guarneri plan (from the Strad magazine) and reduce it proportionally.

Thank you. You know more for sure and I have little experience. I read again about this method. Does it have success? (I have strad posters)

Zdravo Goran,

Here is a pdf from Alan Goldblatt's website that has measurements for all size violins.  You can search for more information to collaborate this information but at least it will put you in the ball park.  You can make some small changes to suit your own style or to modify the tone if you have some experience in this area.

Violin_Dim_Goldblatt.pdf

53 minutes ago, catnip said:

Zdravo Goran,

Here is a pdf from Alan Goldblatt's website that has measurements for all size violins.  You can search for more information to collaborate this information but at least it will put you in the ball park.  You can make some small changes to suit your own style or to modify the tone if you have some experience in this area.

Violin_Dim_Goldblatt.pdf

Drago mi je i veliki pozdrav!

I have these measurements and some from other resources (Strobel etc). I just like to know if I could see a 7/8 violin study from Italian makers. Otherwise, I will work only by recalculating and reduce a 4/4 violin. 

12 hours ago, Urban Luthier said:

Both the Andrea Amati violin plans published by the Strad are 7/8th I think

Thank you for answer. I have the one Amati poster but it is 4/4.

On 3/7/2019 at 8:57 AM, Goran74 said: