Sign in to follow this  
tango

Engelmann violin top

Hi
This time I wonder how I will work my new violin top since this is my first time with Engelmann spruce. 
Seems to be very light and of a fine grain
Any recomendation about?

Thanks in advance

What's the SG on the top?  A light top <0.34 may need a higher arch to add strength.  That should be enough blood in the water for the sharks to come in and give you more detailed and possibly contradictory advise. :)

-Jim

18 minutes ago, Jim Bress said:

What's the SG on the top?  A light top <0.34 may need a higher arch to add strength.  That should be enough blood in the water for the sharks to come in and give you more detailed and possibly contradictory advise. :)

-Jim

I try to understand some basic rules of physics one of which is:

"For every expert opinion there is an equal and opposite expert opinion"

24 minutes ago, Marty Kasprzyk said:

Action always equals reaction, so there's the logic :) More basic rules: when 2 luthiers agree, one of them is lying (or maybe both) and when asked a question to 5 luthiers, you might get 10 expert opinions .. 

56 minutes ago, Marty Kasprzyk said:

I'm no expert. But I have used Englemann, and I did make one out of .29 or so Englemann that is very easy to play.  It has a humongous arch of about 20 mm.  Yes, it rises very much on the ends, but that was carved in, because that is the way the poster had it. 

The back is very stiff, .68 or so flamed birch.

I do the arches somewhat different now, but I would make that model out of Englemann.  I wouldn't make it out of something stiffer.

The things we really need to know is if it was cut on the full moon, waning moon or new moon?

Was a chainsaw used, with or without ethanol in the fuel,,, or

Was it felled with a two man saw? Did both men have two arms,, or finally was it felled with an axe,,, how sharp was it?