Hi All,

Its been a while - mostly because I bought a violin that kept me happy.  Unfortunately, it met a rather sad end and now I am looking for a new voice.

I came upon a Luiz Bellini - actually as I had only glanced at the third violin on the testing bench I thought the dealer had put out a real Strad for me to try (it would not be beyond him, and no I am no expert!).  The instrument is exquisitely responsive and has a powerful sound from bottom to top.  there are of course a few notes that are a little weaker or stronger but nothing that looks like a problem.  Its extraordinary how I can hear both notes totally clearly when I play double stops.  So, I am serious about this.

Two questions - why is it so hard to find any price history of his violins?  It seems that nobody ever sold one!  Thus, its very hard to gauge if I am at the right price range.  I know that Luiz was very highly rated when he was alive but are his instruments still equally highly rated in comparison to the current luthier stars?

Details: Luiz B Bellini; 1993 Baron Knoop Strad copy.  One owner (who commissioned it from the luthier).  Seemingly in perfect condition.

Thanks all..

ee

25 minutes ago, elisemusic said:

...Two questions - why is it so hard to find any price history of his violins?...

Two possibilities:  1.  Very few have been sold at auction.  2.  You're not looking in the right places.

I vote for #2, because I find five auction sales listed in the 2012 "The Red Book."

What's your second question?

Hi Brad - Thanks for the reply.  The reason I posted here is that I don't have access to the sales records and figured that maybe you guys do.  Apparently that was right :)

The second question was 'are his instruments still equally highly rated in comparison to the current luthier stars' or have they paled".  Bellini was in the limelight when Ricci bought one of his Lord Wilton copies and used it for concerts.