Sign in to follow this  
Landolfi

Ansaldo Poggi authentication

I've never seen nor played a Poggi before.   I would like those who have seen a real one their thoughts on authenticity of this fiddle.   Thank you

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

Not a Poggi IMHO

The f-holes look like some strange pseudo-DG model (Poggi f-holes are very distinctive), the scroll eye is very small (and most of Poggi scrolls are inked) and the front view shows a rather narrow profile at the bottom of the scroll, the pegbox seems to be blackened and the varnish looks a bit synthetic or lacking in lustre.

Ebay?

Tarisio has several Poggi examples spanning decades with similar features on the scroll. Just based on that one aspect, the one you posted looks very different in several ways. Maybe he was copying a less skilled maker when he made yours?

l32489treb-poggi-e1396882232442.jpg

I was lucky enough to know Ansaldo Poggi, he was an old man and I was a fresh luthier but he was a very nice and he take time for speak with me for help me to improve. His work was very precise and not like the violin pictured in this post. Even his Del Gésù copy was very clean.

https://www.scrollavezza-zanre.com/zh-hant/portfolio/ansaldo-poggi-violin-1942/

7 hours ago, Wood Butcher said:

I don't think it's a Poggi, looks to be something considerably newer.
The burned flames, and reversed grain on the top are giving me cause for concern too.

Can you explain what you mean by the term is “burned flames” and “reverse grain”?

1 hour ago, PhilipKT said:

Can you explain what you mean by the term is “burned flames” and “reverse grain”?

The flames in the maple are overly emphasised, being very dark. This happens when maple is stained, and the stain penetrates the end grain of the flames. When this has been done, you loose the movement in the flames.