Sign in to follow this  
michaeld

1897 J.Johnson Violin Indentification

Hi all, new here.  I have this old violin.  Inside is penciled:

J. Johnson
Mineapolis

(notice the one 'n' in Minneapolis)  I live in Minnesota, so I am assuming "Mineapolis" refers to the one in the Twin Cities.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?  Any idea of its worth?

20181228_144524.jpg

20181228_144616.jpg

20181228_144656.jpg

20181228_144717.jpg

20181228_144743.jpg

20181228_144802.jpg

Agree with Brad 100%. Not a valuable instrument . Not quality wood.

It looks like the center  seam in the top is separating - or there is a soundpost  crack.

Repair would probably exceed value of the instrument if properly done.

But I am not an expert by any stretch of the imagination, so see what others say.

Out of interest: is it French or MKN?  I got the last one wrong . This looks BOB to me but with a number of French features in particular the shape which is probably the clincher, and the scroll. Purfling and edges could be French as well. Button a bit small for French but wrong shape for MKN. Maybe I'm talking rubbish.

It looks MKN to me. I think that the neck/scroll are later additions. Scroll varnish looks different and newer, and it looks like there has been work around the button. I would expect the inside to be blackened, too, if it was the original scroll.

Still curious about the 1-piece back. Does not look like plain maple to me, more like poplar.

button.jpg

I thought it looks a bit wide at the waist for MKN but picture is not straight on.

Michaeld, in case you are wondering what we are talking about, MKN stands for Markneukirchen, a place in Saxony, Germany.   Was a trade center for hundreds of thousands of mostly low quality violins.

I may be talking nonsense about it's origin but I'm fairly certain the instrument is not valuable as is.

I thought American...

Someone is out to lunch (probably me, but I can always hope for a miracle...)