kayjay

Grain orientation for blocks

Greetings! 
I am brand new to this site - and working on my first fiddle! Since this is my first post a little background about me: I started playing fiddle about 2 years ago and as a result have become completely intrigued at the artistry and precision involved in their making. I have some ancient experience as a machinist and moldmaker many many years ago, but working with wood is ENTIRELY new to me. Possibly a bit naively ambitious, I just started in on my own fiddle building project. Who knows how the thing will turn out, but it's all about the learning in the process, right? (As an aside, I've considered starting with a kit, but I am less focused/hurried for an end product and more so embracing the whole process in order to learn). Unfortunately I do not have any luthier resources in my area (at least that I know about), so I am relying primarily on written materials, and hopefully some guidance from anyone here willing to spare advice! 

I have as my references Johnson and Courtnall's Art of Violin Making, and the Strobel series, also have Heron-Allen's Violin Making Historical and Practical Guide at my disposal for more general reference/context. I've settled on working from the patterns provided by Strobel.