Sign in to follow this  
PhilipKT

Question for makers. How many instruments have you made?

David Caron has made 180 instruments.  I have a lot of respect for William Wedbee, I looked up his website, and was astonished to read that since 1979 he has made over 1100 instruments.

That’s astounding productivity.  I was under the impression that somebody working alone would be producing a lot closer to 180, and it occurred to me to ask you guys who make for a living, how many instruments have you made, or how many instruments do you expect to make during your working career?

I know there are lots of qualifiers, and some repair and restore as well as make, some don’t make full-time, and so on. I’m just asking, if it is an answerable question. 

And this is what we do on a Sunday afternoon when we don’t watch football games… We ask silly questions at maestro net. Thank you for indulging me!

I am new to this. I haven't sold a single fiddle, nor have I tried yet. It's a hobby. I play my own fiddles in a bluegrass band. I started my first 3 years ago, and I am nearly finished with my 8th.

8 minutes ago, bkwood said:

I am new to this. I haven't sold a single fiddle, nor have I tried yet. It's a hobby. I play my own fiddles in a bluegrass band. I started my first 3 years ago, and I am nearly finished with my 8th.

I would love to see some pictures!

Last night at rehearsal, I met cellist playing an instrument made in 1880-ish by Pietro Dosi. It was a nice instrument, although to my eye it looked very German.

But when I looked it up, I found that he was a gifted amateur who made fine instruments.  This one has survived 150 years. If you’ve made 8 by now, I wager you are making worthwhile stuff.

I'm a bit behind BK with 5 builds in 2 years time. I also do not plan to sell, it's just a fun hobby next to my computer work. Currently i'm gathering some inspiration and ideas for #6, propably a deep, growling, loud DG style one :)