Sign in to follow this  
Deconetti

Italian violin... but genuine?

Hi all,

First time post, but an avid reader for some time... thanks to all those who contribute.

Following a house clearance, I've recently come across a violin that, per its label, is by Pedrazzini, made in Milan in 1922.  The inside of the instrument is branded "G. PEDRAZZINI", and the label is signed (by someone, possibly Pedrazzini?...).

Anyway, I'm no expert on Italian violins from the early twentieth century - but I suspect that someone here might be... so...

Does this look like an authentic Pedrazzini, or something much less interesting?

Any insight very gratefully received, with thanks.

Violin 3.jpg

Violin 4.jpg

Violin 5.jpg

Violin 6.jpg

Violin 7.jpg

Violin 8.jpg

3 hours ago, Deconetti said:

.. and a few more.

No chance as an authentic Pedrazzini and serious doubts as to it being of Italian origin.

Unfortunately there are a lot of copies and fakes out there and it appears that you own one of them.

Bruce

But plenty to be happy about. Looks like decent quality, good condition, good model. Should make a nice servicible instrument. Estate sale fiddles are often money pits.

Bruce Carlson/henrypeacham/deans: thank you all for taking a moment to respond.  I wonder if anyone out there has any thoughts as to where the violin might have been made (if, as seems likely, it’s not Italian...)?

IMHO, nicely made mid-20th. C. trade/student  fiddle, probably German, but of uncertain parentage.  How does it sound?  :)

44 minutes ago, Violadamore said:

IMHO, nicely made mid-20th. C. trade/student  fiddle, probably German, but of uncertain parentage.  How does it sound?  :)