Help me choose a viola, Please!

I am an advanced student entering high school, playing for 10 years, started at age 4. 

I am currently playing on a Johannes Kohr K5000 16" viola, and am (really) ready to upgrade!

I would like my next viola to get me through high school and college.

I have to decide between these two violas...

2012 Gunther Prager Armati 16" Retail $2500 paid $1400 with basic case and bow

According to my local luthier *This viola is very well set up, and he prefers this one.

2013 Pietro Germino Master 16 1/2" made for Quinlan & Fabish Retail $4150 paid $2000 with wooden suspension case, new strings and bow

According to local luthier *This viola, needs some tweaking with set up and alignment, but is still a very good instrument.

The Gunther Prager has a nice low register with good tone

The Pietro Germino seems to have cleaner notes in the higher register with more overall projection

Thoughts welcome please!

Pietro Germino.JPG

Pietro_Germino_Gunther_Prager.jpg

Prager.JPG

Welcome to the forum, and congrats on reaching this milestone of selecting a new instrument! I regret that, short of hearing you play them, I can't tell you which would be better for your present needs. Between your teacher and your luthier, I am sure you will have excellent guidance in selecting your next fiddle. 

Unless you are really tall, I suggest the smaller one. At your age, development of (particularly left hand) advanced technique and repertoire is vital, and will be more easily obtained on the smaller viola, all else being equal (although that is not a given...) Learn to get everything out of the smaller viola by experimenting carefully and methodically with the balance of bow contact point, speed, and weight, (and articulations, and artistically varied vibrato...) and your bow arm will be able to adapt to a bigger viola someday, if you choose to go that direction.