Sign in to follow this  
Andrew_Easterling

The Incredible Shrinking Double Bass.

Hey Folks,

A little background,  I studied classical bass in college then spent a few years working in a violin shop doing setup work and minor repairs. All this to say, I'm not a total amateur at luthier work but I've never really done anything very advanced. Now, on to my incredible shrinking double bass.

The bass I've owned and played on for the past ten years is, quite literally, tearing itself apart at the seams. The back keeps separating from the ribs on the lower treble bout. I've reglued it a couple times but it keeps reopening. Currently the opening is from about four inches to the left of the end block(to the bass side of the instrument) all the way around to about four inches below the treble c bout (I haven't reglued it in over a year). It's massive.  I think the back is shrinking and warping and so it is separating from the ribs but it's also putting torque on the rest of the instrument. This has caused cracks in the ribs to also appear. There are rib cracks on the upper treble bout and on both c bouts where they meet the lower bouts. Theres also a center seem gap on the top and a bass bar crack. 

Now, it may just be that this instrument is doomed and there's nothing to do but start saving my pennies and get a new bass, but is there something I can do to save this on? I'm currently borrowing a friends bass and I'm up for a big project. Could sandbagging the back help to release the tension it's building up? Would that stop the warping? 

Let me know if theres any other information I can provide. 

Best,

Andrew Easterling

1. How old is it.

2. What kind of wood is it made of.

3. What is the average humidity where the bass lives.

4. Need pics of everything but the dog and cat.

5. Do you ever use it to snow board, or  as a boat or dog house.

Evan's bass repair

Here's a link to a google album with my photos:

https://photos.app.goo.gl/sB56x6rol5VpXY0Y2