Sign in to follow this  
MANFIO

Trigger finger

I have a problem with my right thumb: trigger finger. It seems a surgery will be necessary, the doctor said it is a simple one.

Any experience with that? Thanks!

13 minutes ago, MANFIO said:

I have a problem with my right thumb: trigger finger. It seems a surgery will be necessary, the doctor said it is a simple one.

Any experience with that? Thanks!

Do you mean it sometimes "locks" in a bent position? If it is that, it usually requires a small (day hospital) operation on the carpal tunnel that surrounds the tendon so that the tendon can again move freely. As it is now, something is binding, causing your thumb to "lock" in position.

That's all I'm going to say, I'm not a doctor. My wife had this condition on one of her fingers where it would "lock" in a bent position.

Numerous violinists that I deal with have had the same issue. As Bruce said, day surgery, but a bit of time before you will be able to go back to work.

I had trigger finger surgery on my left hand pinky. Before surgery, the pain made it impossible to play for more than 10 minutes. Now I don't even think about it.

Hi Manfio,

Sorry to hear about your hand.

Good news is trigger surgeries are one of the most common, most foolproof, most likely to succeed operations you can have.

Slightly less optimal news: it is possible for things to go wrong (although very unusual to go catastrophically wrong). A second surgery to remove scar tissue from a less than optimal first surgery can happen, but they don't tend to tell you that beforehand. A real operation seems better than needle aponeurotomy, etc.? Talk to your surgeon.