Hello everyone! I am new to Maestronet so I will introduce myself a little bit. I am a violinist, studied at Curtis and play concerts for a living, but I'm also a big instruments enthusiast! Love to read the Maestronet forum, get to know different instruments and follow the latest auctions. Here is a violin which has been in my family for a long time, and I have taken it to different people to get an idea of what it is. Most of them seem to agree that it is an 18th century Italian/Brescian violin, but I haven't been able to get any more info. Would love to hear your opinions! I used to play on it when I was a kid and the sound is beautiful and projecting, although it has a shorter stop length. 

Currently, I play on a JBV Guarneri model.

IMG_3099.jpg

IMG_3101.jpg

IMG_3103.jpg

IMG_3104.jpg

IMG_3105.jpg

IMG_3106.jpg

IMG_3107.jpg

• 3 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...
On 6/9/2018 at 5:40 AM, Violinist1828 said:

Just got the results of the Dendro report! Turns out that the wood is from Italy from 1750s! Thought you guys would be curious. And it matches with wood used on Storioni, Bergonzi and even Strad from 1734! Now gotta find out who the maker might be... 

Who made the dendro?

16 minutes ago, feelingfaceform said:

Who made the dendro?

I did.

The majority of the significant cross-matches are indeed with wood used on instruments made in Italy in the  mid-18th century.  The type of response I am seeing here is usually very specific,  meaning that it is very unusual to see it referring to instruments made outside Italy, apart from instruments made by Jose Contreras, and this violin is clearly nothing to do with Contreras.

15 hours ago, Ratcliffiddles said:

I did.