Hi All,

I am a high school student looking into purchasing a high quality viola. I am interested in instruments ranging from $12,000 to $20,000. I currently play a $4,500 Erdesz copy made in Washington, D.C. in 2016.

I am open to any suggestions of shops/makers, though these would preferably be located in the mid-atlantic/northeast U.S. 

Thank you!

You could probably get a real Erdesz, not a bad choice. There are many modern makers in that price range. First place I would look is Brobst, if you havent been.

Or perhaps if a trip to SoCal is in your future, Metzler's violins (Glendale) had a number of violas as part of their American luthier show.  Most of the violins and violas are still available, and will be there for a month or so. Many of the violas were between 12 -20K. I don't know if the "show" is traveling to other stores; I think Metzler organized this one.  There was something similar at Reed-Yeboah in NYC.  

Are you in the DC area?  I’ve been going to Potter’s for my sons violin needs for about 10 years now. Always enjoyed the staff and never felt pressured to spend money. Dalton Potter once or twice talked me out of spending money when he didn’t feel it was in my best interest. If you’re interested send me a pm and I’ll give you a salesman that I trust contact information.  

I suggest you also go to the VSA conference in Cleveland this November and take look at the violas entered in the competition.  There will be roughly a hundred entered from makers all over the world.

5 hours ago, Jim Bress said:

Are you in the DC area?  I’ve been going to Potter’s for my sons violin needs for about 10 years now. Always enjoyed the staff and never felt pressured to spend money. Dalton Potter once or twice talked me out of spending money when he didn’t feel it was in my best interest. If you’re interested send me a pm and I’ll give you a salesman that I trust contact information.