Sign in to follow this  
nathan slobodkin

American Federation of Violin and Bow makers

In a recent thread involving the violin technology shop at University of Indiana there were a number of comments about training of violin makers and how the public can know whether the person they are trusting to work on their  prized and possibly valuable instrument is competent to help them. While in some parts of the world business owners including violin makers are required either by law or custom to have certain credentials in their field of expertise in the Americas there  is a tradition of totally free enterprise and anyone can call themselves a violin maker and start doing business the next day. While there are a few self taught makers, dealers or restorers who are extremely competent there are far more who are taking advantage of the public's ignorance and selling shoddy overpriced goods or charging for repairs that leave the instrument in worse shape than before.