TunaDay

Conservatory Instrument Collections

When I was an undergraduate at a prominent Ivy League college many decades ago, I was in a conversation with the chair of the music department and he told me about a collection of musical instruments that were left to the school by alumni.  They were sitting in a closet because there was no program to catalogue or care for the instruments.  I asked to go through the closet and found some very interesting instruments.

More recently, I've noticed that some of our prominent musicians were loaned instruments by their conservatories when they started their music studies, including Juilliard and the Royal School of Music.  Are there prominent collections of musical instruments held by colleges and conservatories that we hear little about?  Perhaps schools like Curtis, New England, Thornton, Oberlin, and so on?  And are any of these schools looking for instruments that might be willed to them, perhaps as living will artifacts for tax purposes?

I don't think such programs are uncommon, but I don't know.   Berkeley lent historical instruments to students when I as there.   I believe that collection was officially held by the UC library.

Eastman has a Stradivari (the 1714 "May-Jacquet, Vormbaum"), an Andrea Guarneri, a Vuillaume, a Guadagnini, a Lupot, and an Oddone. They are not maintained well ... students need to go through an application process in order to sign them out (with faculty approval), but the instruments are nonetheless quite badly abused.

Here's a recording of the Stradivari violin in use by a (now-former) Eastman student ... it is rather amateurishly set up.

One of the local Rochester luthiers took it upon himself to increase the rib height of the Andrea Guarneri ...

The Guadagnini is quite badly caved in; it is probably in danger of imminent collapse.