Greetings from Baltimore!
I'm a self taught, amateur maker currently working on my 6th and 7th instruments. 
I appreciate and welcome all criticism.  Please let me know if I'm doing something wrong!

To start off, here are a couple DG copies that I've been slowly cranking out over the last year.. 

IMG_8119.jpg

Kochanski on the left and Vieuxtemps on the right..  1740-41 seems to be a sweet spot for Del Gesu's. 
The instruments from this year are all very unique in character without being to exaggerated. 

IMG_8117.jpg

The fiddle on the left has been treated with a horse manure/rabbit urine concoction and tanned for a week or so.  
I'm pretty happy with the color. 

Here are a few more progress shots..

IMG_7318.JPG

I made the corner blocks too small on this mould.  I have since adjusted. 

IMG_7328.JPG

I started this instrument with the scroll for a change.. 

IMG_7381.JPG

You can make out the sap pocket patch in the following photos.. 

IMG_7403.jpgIMG_7409.jpgIMG_7410.JPG

I really like the shape of the Kochanski ff's.  I decided to keep them asymmetric. 

IMG_7411.JPGIMG_7429.JPG

The Vieuxtemps scroll is pretty meaty in size but similar in style. 

IMG_7441.jpg

Dremmel routing..

IMG_8025.JPG

My label!

IMG_8109.JPG

I left these plates untouched for a few months and they were warped pretty badly when I came back.  Unfortunately the edge consistency has suffered from 
sanding them down flat again.  

I've also been working on a dark colophony varnish a la Hargrave.  I've been through several types of colophony and have been experimenting with cook times and temp.  
I think I've finally settled on something.  

Here are test strips from the most recent batch.. 

IMG_8046.JPG

The color seems to build up to a decent darkness in three layers.  It will look darker on tanned wood as well. 
I ended up using a bit of madder in the top layers of my last instrument to push it more into the reddish spectrum. 

IMG_8047.JPG