violins88

violin knife steel PM-X

I thought some of you would be interested in the results of my testing of a powder metallurgy steel. This steel holds an edge 3 times longer (in feet of wood cut) than my O1 steel. I have been making and selling O1 knives for several years. Violin makers seem to like them. Now this new steel is better. I was very pleasantly surprised. Sorry, don't want to say exactly which steel it is.

A few months ago I bought two "normal" blades and a CPM 3V blade from John to replace a couple of blades in the old Solingen gold steel in my favourite knives. His normal blades are at least as good as the gold steel - now my favourite knives again - and the CPM 3V blade proved to be so stellar at bee stings that is its gig from now on. Really superb blades.

If John says this new steel is something special, I'd take this claim very seriously - he knows what he's talking about.

I own two of John's CPM 3V (I'm pretty sure this is the correct steel) it`s been a few years. I love these knives, I've got several other knives. They don't compare to John's.

10 hours ago, Craigers said:

Can you post a picture or link, or information on buying these knives ?

please email me jpschmidt44@gmail.com

12 hours ago, violins88 said:

This steel holds an edge 3 times longer (in feet of wood cut) than my O1 steel. I have been making and selling O1 knives for several years.

Sounds like you need to come over for tea, cakes and show-and-tell... ;)

4 hours ago, Janito said:

Sounds like you need to come over for tea, cakes and show-and-tell... ;)

yes. how about one Sunday afternoon?  would love to.

2 hours ago, Mike_Danielson said:

This steel must be "as hard as the hubs of hell."  How do you sharpen it?  Will water stones work or does it take a harder abrasive?  

Mike D