Sign in to follow this  
Joe Swenson

What would you charge to repair this violin top?

Hi all.  Been long time.  :rolleyes:  Getting back into "things" again including repairs for the local music store. 

They have an old Amati style violin they need repaired, if its worth it.  I'm just getting started with them and need to get some idea what to charge them.  The top has what looks like a major bass bar crack, as well as other cracks on the bass side and one nearer the center. 

I'm afraid taking the top off will cause further damage.  Any advice is appreciated...

Cheers!

Joe

IMG_5838-2.jpg

IMG_5840-2.jpg

IMG_5841-2.jpg

Well for sure the top's got to come off, and the value of the violin might be less than the labor cost to fix those repairs. if they want the cracks hidden that's more cost and time consuming. So first from what I see if I was charging is, what extent is the requirement of the repair. I see at least 4 and maybe a 5th crack (one might be old repair). so that's most likely 5 days to repair then another couple days to glue top back on. also I see if it gets fixed there might have to be a compromise meaning you'll be giving them a bargain price to get it done or they just want it fixed regardless of value of instrument (sentimental) 

1 hour ago, duane88 said:

Define "repair".

Take top off. Repair 3 - 4 cracks. Not sure what the bass bar crack will involve. Removing bass bar. Fixing crack. Replacing bass bar?  I'd opt for minimal repair path for that which would mean leaving in bass bar if possible. Then Replace top.

Joe

The top needs to come off to get the cracks aligned, and to address the bassbar crack. I would probably charge about $500 for that, but since I have my shop in my home, I don't have the overhead of a larger shop.