Sign in to follow this  
Joel Pautz

DIY string jack

Hi all,

I started drawing out a violin sized string jack based off this design I found online: http://www.scavm.com/Bridgejk.htm

I'm thinking I'd like to divide it a little more equally in half (with a taller base) and make feet at the bottom to ensure that pressure is distributed over bassbar and soundpost. I was wondering if anyone could comment on what makes a good bridge jack, design flaws to be avoided.

Thanks,

Joel

That design looks OK to me, but I too would cut out a section in the lower bottom center to ensure contact at the bass bar and soundpost positions.

If I were to make one, I might make the lower section from a De Jacques bridge, to incorporate the swiveling feet. :)

Joel,

The most important thing in my opinion is to make it as thin as possible so you can get it right up against the back of the bridge you are removing. Otherwise you have to crank it pretty high to get the other bridge out increasing tension on the fiddle. 

The nicest ones I've seen were the ones made for the Wurlitzer shop which were  steel and only about 3 mm thick. I made one years ago and replaced it with a commercial one as soon as I could.

Addie, I like your design.  The store bought ones can damage the top.  I  think there is no penalty to making the device as wide as possible to spread the load.  Danger may be in adding pressure to the top between bass bar and soundpost where it hasn't had pressure before.   I have the Hardeim and use it a heck of a lot refining the bridge.

20 hours ago, nathan slobodkin said:

The nicest ones I've seen were the ones made for the Wurlitzer shop which were  steel and only about 3 mm thick. I made one years ago and replaced it with a commercial one as soon as I could.

I'm still using the Wurlitzer bridge jacks too, and feel lucky to have them.

The Herdim jacks may be fine too, have never worked with one over a period of years.