Thomas Coleman

The Manual of Violin Making by Brian Derber

I'm really excited to receive my copy!  Brian Derber is a former instructor at CSVM.  He (along with Tschu Ho Lee) taught the current two instructors and I believe Jeffrey Holmes (correct me if not, Jeffrey) along with many many other students.  He currently runs The New World School of Violin Making in upper WI.  While I was a student I had a chance to read a few pages that he submitted to my instructor for his opinions etc.  I was impressed enough to contact Brian and ask him to let me know when it was ready.  I got an email from him with attached photo and subsequently ordered the book.  When it arrives I'll give a rundown. 

Derber.thumb.jpg.054b37f54a27b67efdee216cad7d71e9.jpg

Yes,  I contacted him via email.  I don't have his permission (I can't imagine that he'd mind but better safe than sorry) to post his email address but I don't see a problem with you looking up his schools website for contact info.  I do know that he plans to set up a dedicated website for book sales.

On 10/3/2017 at 1:45 PM, Thomas Coleman said:

I'm really excited to receive my copy!  Brian Derber is a former instructor at CSVM.  He (along with Tschu Ho Lee) taught the current two instructors and I believe Jeffrey Holmes (correct me if not, Jeffrey) along with many many other students.  He currently runs The New World School of Violin Making in upper WI.  While I was a student I had a chance to read a few pages that he submitted to my instructor for his opinions etc.  I was impressed enough to contact Brian and ask him to let me know when it was ready.  I got an email from him with attached photo and subsequently ordered the book.  When it arrives I'll give a rundown. 

Derber.thumb.jpg.054b37f54a27b67efdee216cad7d71e9.jpg