Nick Allen

Viola scale length vs. short pinky

So I've tried to search for info on here about playing viola with a short pinky. Couldn't find anything on it, only about violins. 

So anyways, I have a viola with a 380mm scale length. It hurts to make the 1st-4th finger stretch in 1st position. I have to flatten my pinky out and strain it in order to make this interval. 

The thing that confuses me is any info on sizing an instrument on the web only account for the size of the arm or height. It's as though the people writing these articles assume that everyone has been drawn into existence by Leonardo da Vinci. 

Now, I'm a 6'1" dude, but my pinky is very short. It only comes up to half way in between the second and third knuckle of my ring finger, and to top it all off, it curves inward slightly lol. 

So my question is, is 380mm simply too long for me and my diminutive digit? 

I am a luthier (I think), so I could place a new neck on the instrument to shorten the scale length. But what length I'm not sure of. 

GeorgeH   

Have you tried moving your hand up a tiny bit? It is less stressful to "fan" your index finger back than it is to stretch your pinky. Also, you can try bending your left wrist in toward you to help make that interval.

deans   

I would not shorten a neck on any instrument. Try one with a shorter scale and switch instruments if needed.

Where are you in your playing? Do you have a teacher, what does he/she think? Perhaps it is your technique and not your physical dimensions. But if you are already fairly advanced, maybe its time to look for something smaller, go down to 37cm and it might be a big difference, and that's still a fairly healthy string length.

Rue   

I know a superb player with a short pinky.

You don't adjust the instrument - you adjust your technique. If you can't do it "normally" you learn how to account for your short finger by either stretching, or shifting your hand, or both, etc.