Mat Roop

violin marquetry

Mat Roop   

Anyone know where I can buy pre-made marquetry to replace the missing ... or what is the best way to make it if I need to?

Thanks... Mat

1-IMGP8319.JPG

You will need to make up sandwiches of the light and dark woods then cut them to fit the angle, good luck trying to find a replacement, Karen rost in Germany might have something.

1 minute ago, GeorgeH said:

Maybe a guitar supply shop might have something. Or a lute maker.

I doubt it but maybe.  Try A &M wood specialty products or maybe Luthiers Mercantile.  I'm pretty confident you won't find and exact match.  Sorry to be a bummer.

9 hours ago, Kev Chanot said:

You could try a local antique furniture restorer - that's the kind of job they would have to do.

That isn't a bad idea. I worked as an antique furniture restorer for a while. Most shops will take up odd jobs like this, due to the fact that antique furniture comes with so many quirks and you've got to be ready for anything. 

deans   

I also have one in my garage that's missing a piece, a Schoenbach "Gusetto". I'll have to go dig it out tonight and take a look and see if its the same pattern. Georges suggestion isn't a bad option, and its what I was thinking of doing (for decades now, its hard to justify the effort when I could be playing).  

Mat Roop   

Thanks for all the advice... I will check the various sources, but I suspect I will have to make my own.... as suggested by James J. .... never done that before,  but there is a first time for everything! 

...and Deans.... my problem is the reverse of yours... I can't find the time to be playing when I can be fixing! ... Check your pattern and if its the same as mine I'll just make a larger batch:). I will likely make a 12" or so square of the strips glued together then lay out the curve at the matching angle and cut out the required strip on the scroll saw.

Cheers, Mat

deans