Firochromis

Bridge for an Amateur Cellist

Hi fellow maestros, I need your opinions about replacing the bridge on my cello.

This cello is new to me and my teacher recommends me a new bridge. In fact, even I can tell that this French bridge has unusually less material left above the heart. Next week a luthier will see my cello  and we'll decide if it needs a new fingerboard or just a neck arrangement.

I think what I need is an another French bridge since, I'm an adult student so this cello will not be in concert halls or quartets. I'm one of those lucky people who don't have the stress of being lost among other instruments. In fact a loud instrument is not preferable since I live in an apartment. And my teacher has commented that my cello's bass needs a subwoofer!

So I'm wrong to go with a French bridge?

Regards

20170912_003240.jpg

AtlVcl   

Speaking as a cellist, I wish I could help you, but then I'm confused as to your goal.  If what you're looking for is a less loud instrument, why don't you just put a mute on the thing?

There's nothing inherently wrong with a French bridge, and most players want a loud instrument that projects.  If you let your luthier work on your cello, that's just about the result I'd expect to get.

duane88   

That looks like an awfully short bridge!

I agree with the above suggestion: Let the luthier do their work.

We like it when things come in in poorly adjusted/maintained condition. With that, all we really need it to bring things up to a state of proper set-up and adjustment and most players are tickled.

Thank you for your help. The reason I'm inclined to a French bridge is because it seems that people find it is warmer than the Belgian bridge. I read that since the arc of the Belgian bridge is more elliptical than round, the sound of it is brighter and somewhat louder.