Tostra

Identification and cleaning of an old violin

Hello there, I'm a new member, but I've used threads from this forum as an information source many times before. 

I'm a Danish cellist with a lot of hobbies, one being restoration of old violins. I'm rather new to it, though, and have only repaired one violin yet with a nasty sound post crack, so I need to gain a lot of experience. 

I picked this violin up from a luthier's shop window in Schleswig, Germany. He told me it's a 200 or more years old violin from Mittenwald. I asked why the maker didn't use flamed wood for the neck when the body seems to be of rather nice wood and he said that it was probably made by another person than the body like some sort of production line, just like the trade instruments. 

After staring at it in admiration ever since I purchased it, I've formed a theory that the neck might actually be made later instead of a neck graft. I think there is lots of attention to detail in the body, but not so much in the neck, and the combination seems weird to me. However, I don't have much experience, so I would love if someone could help me identify it. 

I have taken pictures with my phone, and I've observed a few details:

The fingerboard seems to have been too low on this neck and have been lifted with a thin, angled piece of maple. Is that normal? 

The fingerboard has grooves from the strings

The upper right corner where the left hand might rest is weared down a lot so it has a curve down and is even cracked along the purfling. 

The back has marks after having a chin rest mounted for both a right- and left handed player. Maybe it's been a student violin and used by many people? However, it only has marks in the c-bout on the treble side. 

It has been repaired in five cracks in the top and one in the side.