barnett25

3/4 Violin for an Adult?

Hello,

I am a guitarist who has always had an interest in the violin, but have never taken the plunge. 

However yesterday at a pawn shop I found what I thought was just the violin for me. It was a West German made better quality 1960s student violin for only $65 with a case (and a bow that is not in the best shape and is not very good quality). I bought it thinking I would do some basic setup work on it and probably get a new bow and have a beginner instrument that I am drawn to more than I would have been with a new $60 Chinese VSO on Amazon. However after getting the violin home I realized that it measured up to be a 3/4 size (and the case and bow match of course). 

So now I have two questions. 

1. Can I, as a 5' 11" adult male, learn to play (at least at a basic level) on a 3/4 size violin? I have no aspirations to play in an orchestra, just get to the point that I can play some recognizable tunes for my own enjoyment.

2. I believe the bow is bad and needs replaced. Should I get a 3/4 bow that fits nicely in the case, or do I absolutely need a 4/4 bow even if it means having to come up with a storage solution (maybe a cheap full size case)? I was looking at the $25-$50 range on Amazon. Obviously not the best, but you can probably tell it fits the theme of my overall budget.

3 hours ago, barnett25 said:

1. Can I, as a 5' 11" adult male, learn to play (at least at a basic level) on a 3/4 size violin? I have no aspirations to play in an orchestra, just get to the point that I can play some recognizable tunes for my own enjoyment.

2. I believe the bow is bad and needs replaced. Should I get a 3/4 bow that fits nicely in the case, or do I absolutely need a 4/4 bow even if it means having to come up with a storage solution (maybe a cheap full size case)? I was looking at the $25-$50 range on Amazon. Obviously not the best, but you can probably tell it fits the theme of my overall budget.