Amateur Maker

Stradivari Drawings

I post here because I have decided I want to make a Violin.  I have been reading and watching video's of different people making violins for over a year now however I still have questions which have been unanswered.  If at all possible, I hope these questions can be answered here.

1.  Where can I get a drawing of a Stradivari Messiah 1716 ?  I do have some information and a mold drawing but no dimensions, especially with the scroll.  From watching some video's I see that the builder does have a set of drawings which is referred to numerous times.

2.  The WOOD  -  Not wanting to buy wood for my first violin from Europe and pay an exorbitant amount, where can I get the wood in the states and from what company in particular?  I understand the better the grade the higher the price, but I am a novice at this so therefore I wouldn't even consider buying expensive wood.  However, I do want to have made a violin that can be played well and sounds well.    

3.  Would I be able to purchase all of the wood from one company with the ribs matching the back & neck?  Or is this getting into the higher price range?

4.  Can someone suggest the minimum gouges I should have on hand to start?

5.  Lastly, has anyone built their own bending iron and if so do you have any drawings of it?

Any help to the above questions would be greatly appreciated! 

carl1961   

Maybe see this

http://www.makingtheviolin.com/Measurements

You can get a bending iron on eBay cheap. Some have used a Pipe with a heat gun, but if you have to buy the pipe and heat gun then your better off paying the 60.00 for the Rib Bending Iron .

Try eBay also for your first wood. Good wood will cost you more.

You have the information for the Messiah on the link Carl posted. Just follow the links on that page for the drawings and a step by step workflow.