Sign in to follow this  
fiddlecollector

ebay/paypal query

Are you covered as a seller if you post something from the UK to  a  US PO BOX. If you cant get a signature ( PO box) how would  you prove to ebay/paypal if the buyer were to claim he hasn`t received the item?? I usually only send by recorded services that require a signature to cover me.

I'd say it's pretty much impossible for the seller.   Most everything on ebay/paypal is biased in the buyer's favor.  

FWIW, I've been selling (and buying) on ebay for about 20 years with somewhere around 20,000 transactions, including ones to all parts of the world.

You could send a package with delivery confirmation. I really don't know if eBay/PayPal would accept that as proof of delivery. And what if you bought USPS insurance? Couldn't you then rely on the Post Office to document the package delivery? Furthermore, who says you can't require a signature when shipping to a P.O. box? Then the Post Office holds the package until the recipient shows ID and signs for receipt of it. P.O. boxes are usually inside Post Offices. I think you have a lot of options and it's not really a problem.

Ordinarily i wouldn`t have a problem with sending to PO box and i know that the recipient would have to collect the item and usually sign for it. But with ebay /paypal the address given is the PO Box and the tracking would stop on delivery of the item at the PO BOX. The signature would not appear on my tracking search , which means i would have no signature proof that the recipient signed for it  and so nothing to stop a buyer claiming that it hasnt been received.

Pretty much all courier insurance policies exclude musical instruments in their small print.

It's a few years since I sold anything on Ebay but I'm sure you have to send to the buyer's paypal registered address or you are unprotected. Since it's not possible to use a PO box as a paypal registered address I would say don't do it.