Sign in to follow this  
Daniel Bond

I am trying to make a Violin that can beat strads

My name is Bond, Daniel Bond. I'm 15, and yes you guessed it right. I'm the guy that posted what makes strads so special. That post is part of my reasearch on strads. I'm a guitarist, that is interested in Violin, but what makes me more interested into Violin? A special violin called strad. After I done my research I will start making Violin. So those of you that knows Violin making can help my reasearch.

Daniel Bond.

Hi Daniel!  Are you planning to go to a violin making school, or apprentice with someone? :)

Hi Daniel, read as many books as you can on violin making, the complexity of the craft is incredible. Find an apprenticeship, there are schools as well which give you a good start. Some people started by sweeping the floor of a workshop, then helping with small things and progressively more important things.

No one will ever surpass Stradivarius because he has mythology on his side. For every testament there is a new testament though, so here is hoping that in 300 years Daniel Bond violins are as renowned as Stradivarius.

My name is Bond, Daniel Bond. I'm 15, and yes you guessed it right. I'm the guy that posted what makes strads so special. That post is part of my reasearch on strads. I'm a guitarist, that is interested in Violin, but what makes me more interested into Violin? A special violin called strad. After I done my research I will start making Violin. So those of you that knows Violin making can help my reasearch.

Daniel Bond.

I wish you good luck. You'll find a lot of help and precious info on MN. 

Making violins that "beats Strads" assumes there is some objective way to score the result.  There isn't... it's all subjective.  And if the ultimate best sound is defined by Strads (or maybe a Guarneri or two), then it is by definition impossible to beat them.