Sign in to follow this  
Jack Devereux

Opaque Linseed Oil

Hey folks- I'm just beginning to dip my toes into varnish making, and had a question about washing linseed oil. I bought a jug of Kremer's cold pressed stuff and put it in a big mason jar with some water as outlined in Mr Hargrave's bass article. The oil, which was a kind of golden/yellow and translucent in its own bottle now looks like orange juice and is totally opaque. Is this normal? I haven't siphoned off the first batch of water yet, and there's definitely some crud settling out. I got paranoid and thought maybe I had left a little dish soap residue in the jar when I washed it out, and that might have done something to the oil? Or it may just be that I need to run a couple more batches of water through it and let it clarify. Any thoughts are greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Jack

post-68386-0-63880600-1477316710_thumb.jpg

Yep this is pretty standard. Syphon off the orange stuff at the top into a clean bottle (I use a turkey baster) then leave the clean stuff in the sun for a couple of weeks. OR you could simply go to the art supply store and buy some refined linseed oil from Gamblin. Refined linseed oil is what's used in Gary Bease's Strad article on varnish making.

Roger, by the way doesn't promote the use of sand and salt noted in Tad Spurgeon's article noted above, Roger just uses water. 

The one thing not noted in the Bass book on the resin side is that you will need to cook your colophony up to 80 loss at around 125 to 150 degree C to get the kind of colour Roger does. Not an easy thing to do!

One of these days I'd like to do an addendum to the Bass book that summarizes some of these little details that got left out. 

Cheers

Chris

Thanks for the info! This is just water, no sand. I've read about that but figured I'd try the simpler method first. Is that any more effective or faster? Will the Hargrave recipe work with art store refined oil?