Sign in to follow this  
cpsinkule

How far can I get at this age?

I'm currently 24 years old. I've played violin casually when I was in middle school, but I am practically a beginner. I have always loved violin and had to give it up for school. At this point in my life I find that I have ample time to spare to practice at least 4-5 hours a day and am finally able to afford a decent quality violin to own. My goal has always been to play Bach's unaccompanied violin pieces, but I realize these are by far master level artworks. Is it possible for someone of my age to be able to competently play these pieces before I am 6 feet under?

For a complete beginner, I would say no.  But, depending on when you started, how far you got, and how much you retained, IMO you'd have a good chance.  Good luck.

Keep going, you should be able to play at least some of the movements well.  There is a lot of time left after 24 years, and I can think of many players that started late and play very well.

But also keep in mind that many working professional violinists cant play all of Bach at a respectable performance level.

Go for it.

I also started as a child, and then only started taking 'real' lessons as an adult. My goal is to see how far/competent I can get. I am enjoying the journey, I am less concerned about the end result. If you don't don't enjoy the process...and are fixated on an end goal that you may not quite get to, you may be disappointed or think you failed.

There is no failing - at the end of it, you will be able to play better than when you started. That is an accomplishment.