I'm no expert here, but the appearance of the violin is what I'd expect for between-the-wars stuff from either Italy or Germany, and the case is a keeper.  Pay the nice Dutch fellow his 80 Euros and take it home. I would if I could.  :lol:  :P

Anybody heard of Matteo Allegri in Ravenna (maybe spelled "Ravemja") circa 1930's?

Nice find!

For I'm not an expert in this matters, too, I heard like many others that Reggio Emilia was full of amateur or autodidactic makers at this period, so this might probably one of them.

In my unexperted eyes everything looks convincing for the period, too, also the label (which reads clearly "Ravenna" IMO and nothing else) could be in there since a very long time.

Ask Eric Blot, possibly he knows.

OTOH, I can't say what's so awesome about the 1970ies synthetic case (no leather, my 2cts) - I definitely like my Jägers much more B) .

In that case, wouldn't that violin just be feces Germany?  The melted, gooey look of the front is particularly noteworthy.  No one really thinks it's Italian, right?

Just the other day I saw a VSO in a case at some knick knack shop, a truly horrible specimen with cracks everywhere and deep gouge marks to the fingerboard (which was evidently oak or some other hard wood painted black).  Even the case was just held together with fabric "hinges".  However, we're always looking for throwaway cases to ship violins in. So I asked how much for the violin and it was $30.  I asked if she would sell the case separately and she said sure, for $25... :angry:  At least nothing was being sold as a valuable antique etc.