Maestronet Forums

Becoming a business, where do I start?

MikeCanada

I took some time with the Maestronet search function looking for things like “business” and “insurance” and a few others, and wasn't finding a whole lot other than having insurance is a good idea, and a lot of discussion about appraisal values etc. While looking on the web at large or non-music specific resources, I had a difficult time figuring out what is applicable to my situation, and what my best course of action is. Here's a little background:

I have been studying bow making and repair/restoration for about seven years. Up to this point most of my work has been through a work study and a shop, with some coming in from colleagues as I am a player. The majority has been school/student level bows that would sell under $500 and I do not have clients into my shop/home, so I have not worried with insurance. Bow work has not been my main source of income, so I have not become a business. I would like to change that, and I really don't know where to start. I still plan to work alone from home, but transition to bow work being a larger portion of my income.

First, I am located in Canada. From what I have read becoming a sole proprietorship is the simple option, but leaves my personal assets vulnerable in the event that something goes wrong. Is a sole proprietorship the way to go, or is incorporation something I should explore?

Heritage and CHUBB have been the two names that come up when insurance is mentioned, and both operate in Canada. Are there other companies that the Canadians here would recommend?

Other than becoming a sole proprietorship or corporation and getting insurance, what else needs to happen for legal/tax reasons? Where do I go and who do I talk to to get the ball rolling? A lawyer? Chamber of Commerce? Municipal Office?

If you have any guidance for next steps, I would greatly appreciate it.