Sign in to follow this  
Jimthesecond

"Beginner" Mozart

Hi all,

I'm a beginner/intermediate level player but I focus mainly on trad Irish music. I have a classical violin teacher that I've been working with since I started nearly 6 years ago who I've managed to convince to let me try my hand at a Mozart violin concerto (No. 3 in Germany major).

It's my understanding that Mozart is far from easy so I was wondering if anyone here can provide any tips or advice to better my chances at not butchering the music.

I strongly recommend that you proceed.  Mozart as well as Haydn, Stamitz, Beethoven, and other classical composers of the time wrote music that on the surface does not always seem that difficult, notewise.   But the difficutly is in the control and finesse needed to pull it off well, and thus is the wonderful learning opportunity to study a work that has notes you can technically manage but will stretch your musical and bow control abilities to beyond your limits.  It is very cerebral music and requires such a touch to make it dance and soar as it should.  Go for it, but be a watchmaker, not a blacksmith.   My orchestral skills were honed in college by a brilliant conductor who used Mozart extensively for the same reasons to train his orchestras in dynamcis, instant response, clean notes, and to think, move, and breath as a single organism. 

Find recordings of Jose Luis Garcia and the English Chamber Orchestra.  In my opinion he/they were among the best authorities in these works. 

Interesting that for many years (and maybe still today) auditions for 99% of all orchestras asked for a movement from a Mozart concerto.  I'd say that tells something about the considered difficulty of Mozart.  However, Dr. S is right that on the surface it doesn't seem all that difficult.  It isn't Paganini or even Mendelssohn.  But it shows a player's weaknesses very quickly, if he has any, at least IMO.