Etüdes for tool handling

So, I've hardly any skill with violin making Tools, or fine woodworking Tools for that matter. I'm wondering if it makes sense to invent some "etüdes" (you know, I'm a professional musician) for the purpose of getting a feel what certain Tools can do. Etüdes that are not yet the making of a violin, but that do Train the handling of Tools. Does this make any sense to you guys?Can you think of small "off violin" tool-handling etüdes?

The only "etude" to which I was ever exposed as an apprentice was when I was given a rough sawn piece of timber and instructed to plane it flat, straight, square and parallel on all four sides. Doing this develops your skill and feel for handling a plane.

Ervin Somogyi,  whom many would regard as today's most eminent maker of steel string guitars, takes it one step further, and requires his apprentices to make a perfectly dimensioned cube using only hand saws and a plane.

So, I've hardly any skill with violin making Tools, or fine woodworking Tools for that matter. I'm wondering if it makes sense to invent some "etüdes" (you know, I'm a professional musician) for the purpose of getting a feel what certain Tools can do. Etüdes that are not yet the making of a violin, but that do Train the handling of Tools. Does this make any sense to you guys?Can you think of small "off violin" tool-handling etüdes?

Can you sharpen? Really sharpen?  Violin maker's standards are the highest, I think.  As a test of your skill, can your knives do this?  That is a 65 gram weight attached to 40wt rayon thread.  So, sharpening is the first skill.

Sharpen a plane blade. 

Learn to sharpen a violin scraper. The problem with this one is that scrapers vary in hardness. I cannot claim to have mastered it. This one needs to be learned in the presence of someone who knows.