Sign in to follow this  
Resophonic

Bow wedge wood species

I am relatively new to bow re-hairing, up to 29 now to date. I have been using Basswood to make my wedges out of but most of the bows I have re-done have had Maple wedges. On one hand, the Basswood is soft enough that cuts easily and there is some squish, much less chance of bow damage if the fit isn't perfect. On the other hand, the Basswood wedge is pretty much a one time use item whereas a good fitting Maple one can be re-used a few times.

Pluses, minuses? What are others using and why?

Don't ever reuse a wedge (meaning a spread wedge). You will never see a well-wedged ribbon of hair using an old wedge. Basswood is an excellent wood for the spread wedge as it is compressible and lessens the chance of damage to a fragile ferrule.

On the other hand, for plugs that are properly fit into the head and frog mortises to hold the hair, maple is an excellent choice of materials. Properly fit plugs can be reused a number of times as long as the amount of hair used each time remains the same.

For spread wedges I use basswood.  I never re-use them.  When I first started hairing bows, I went out in the woods behind the house and cut down a basswood tree for this purpose.  I thought it was funny that I cut down a whole tree to get little pieces of wood the size of my fingernail.

For frog and head plugs I use red (soft) maple.  I tried poplar for a while but didn't like it as much.  Arnold Bone, who I first learn hairing from, used striped maple which he called moose maple and which isn't actually maple at all.  I have heard the the Wurlitzer shop used willow.  I have also heard of white birch being used.

For blocks, I use very hard maple cut on the slab. I want them to fit without any squish, movement or surprises.

For spread wedges I use phillipine mahogany cut on the slab. Softer spread wedges will compress more, unfortunately it is the same compression that will deform ferrules.

Thanks to the responders.