Sign in to follow this  
Jim Bress

Tired of not playing music!

Hi all.  I've never been on this part of MN before, buts it's never too late to start something new.  I've been a lame duck since last summer with left shoulder problems.  MRI shows arthritis, bone spurs, and tendinitis.  In all likelihood I probably have a minor tear(s) in the rotator cuff as well.  I generally don't do things half way.  <_<  

After many rounds of physical therapy, cortisone shots, and more physical therapy, I'm finally going under the knife in April.  The problem is that I'm so tired of not being able to play my violin that I keep trying to just sneak in a few minutes of playing which is really counter productive.  I'm not even a good player!  Anyway, so that I don't torpedo my recovery (estimated six months), I've decided to start playing piano.  I have an old upright with a pleasant tone.  

What lesson book would you recommend for a complete beginner adult for self instruction?    

Thanks,

Jim

I can answer that one!  :)

Alfred's Basic Adult Course! 

I don't have the books in front of me, but there's Level 1, 2 and 3!

http://www.amazon.ca/Alfreds-Basic-Adult-Course-Lesson/dp/0882846167

I had one official piano lesson...and then taught myself. I branched out from the Alfred books into the beginner RCM material (up to Grade 3)...

Then I seriously returned to the violin (and now also the bassoon)...and the piano is on the back-burner. I can handle 2 instruments, but not three. :wacko:  But I'm very glad I took those few years to learn as much as I did...it really helped with my overall 'music education'.

BTW...does your Player play?  Or has it been gutted?

My professor for my piano performance classes at university recommended these beginner books for a friend of mine who was interested in playing:

Adult Piano Adventures All-in-One Lesson Book 1