Sign in to follow this  
ViolinLove20

Buying from China

Hello all,

I'm curious about your opinions about buying items direct from China. Is eBay a good place to buy from China? Is the process simple/any import or custom fees(USA)? Is it reliable if the seller has many good reviews? And is it even a good idea?

I'm curious because im thinking about purchasing an unfinished Chinese violin off ebay.

Thanks!

Hi, I have been buying violins from China for 14 years now, but I never buy from Ebay.

I`ll give you the name of the small shop I like to deal with the most.   They have about 10 people making violins ,and will make you one violin or more .  What ever you want. You can even send them the plans for any violin and they will make it for you.

The name of the sale person that speaks good English is  Yolanda.    phone number is 86-159-2011-6390

Email is ;  Yolanda200988@live.cn       Or       iloveviolinhouse@gmail.com

They have an ebay store,  But if you want that you can ask Yolanda for it.

Hope that will help you find what you need.

Larry

And - many of the violins that are bought from major music stores (ones that specialize in violins or string instruments) are from China. Violins attributed to certain makers, but which do not say exactly, "Made by X", but for example, "from the shop of X", or some such other label, are, or very well could be, from or made in China. (and will have been bought in "bulk".)

Many times the accouterments, and set up - strings, pegs and fittings etc. will be extras (perhaps even the varnish), that are fit here, "expertly", and the violins will sell - in general, in the low thousands of duckats.

But... you didn't hear that here. I have only reported what I have seen in the world at large.

And so - buying from China either directly, or from a dealer where you may or may not be told where the product is from originally, can be very profitable and workable.