Sign in to follow this  
Peter K-G

Purfling knives

While on the subject and learning my new tools and not getting the job done :angry:  I bought this one at the same time - completely useless!! I suspect it is intended to be reshaped and sharpened in some way

post-37356-0-41905900-1413829086_thumb.jpg

I like this knife

attachicon.gif2014-10-20 20.32.25.jpg

But why can't they make the knives flat on one side so that the groove would be angular :angry:

Peter,

I agree. Flat on one side is preferable, not to make the sides of the groove angular, but to make them vertical. But, I am not a trained professional maker. I can understand why the angled sides might help tighten up the purfling when it is pressed in. Let's hear from some trained people, please.

The top one is the regular pick, the lower one is ‘>’ shaped, presumably to work in the corners.

Good evening Addie!

I am very interested in original Stradivari tools - have You sketches of all?

Thanks!

Peter,

I used something similar to the device you illustrate in your first post as a purfling Marker, then cut the sides of the groove vertically with two different knives, by hand.  One has a left bevel, the other right bevel.  The double bladed purfling marker can't make parallel groove walls to full depth by itself because the width of the blade blanks is too great (at least on mine) to permit the bevels to be on the inside, and I think the waste would jam them up before you could get much depth anyway.

I used a purfling pick like the one in your second photo with a drastically reshaped  cutting head for a few years, until it broke.  Then I made a new one out of an old pocket knife that works as well.  The whole process remains a meticulous, time eating pain but working in a patient, methodical way does eventually produce good results.

Doug

Peter,