Sign in to follow this  
Greg F.

Bow opinions

Hi,

I'm a total newbie having started taking fiddle lessons about 1 1/2 yrs ago (at an "advanced" age) and have enjoyed reading about the instrument online and elsewhere.  I've found the discussions regarding bows perplexing and since I have a bow that I like (remember, a total newbie here) I wonder what the knowledgeable readers think of it.  Is it a beneath contempt bow or at least a mid-ling one.  It came with one of my ebay factory violin purchases but can't remember which one.  Some of my factory violins are late 19th century, so this bow might possibly date from such time.

It weighs 64.2 g, is 73 cm long, balance point is at 9 5/8 inches, no name, octagonal, old silver wire wrap, "German Silver" mount, very dark.  Brazilwood?  Snakewood?  Other? 

Thanks in advance for any thoughts/comments.

Greg

post-29472-0-73548400-1408976887_thumb.jpg

post-29472-0-63951600-1408976914_thumb.jpg

German factory, the balance is O.K but the weight is a bit too much. If it doesn't bother you in the hand I guess you can use it.

As far as the wood goes I cannot say from the pictures, but snakewood it's not. Low quality Brazilwood would be my guess.

Do I see something like a repair patch at the profile of the head?

Thanks for the reply.  What weight would be (all things considered) best?  I know there is a debate about bow weights going on elsewhere, but is there a generally accepted upper limit?

If you all don't mind my picking your collective brains some more, here's the info on my second bow (which is sometimes my first, depends on how things are going).