Hi there,

I started practicing vibrato since the day I got my first violin, almost 4 years ago. As I went on, it got much better/easier obviously, and I went through a dreaful time where my intonation and vibrato was problematic, so ofcourse, the sound was horrible for a while (I later read the best is to have good intonation first, then move onto vibrato).

My question is:

Some days my vibrato seems fantastic to me. It feels as if it just happens naturatlly, no tention, no effort, I dont even focus on it. My hand just does the movement on its own. Other days, I just cant seem to get my hand moving properly. It feels as if the muscle controlling this motion just wont cooperate. It feels as if I have no strength in that arm/hand. The duration that this happens for varies, sometimes being a day, sometimes being a week.

Why does this happen? How can you overcome those "weak" days? Ive heard people saying if you get one of those days, put the violin in the case, and close it for the day, then try the next day. Is this the best advice? Is there something else I can work on to "push through"?

I know it takes years to develop a "singing tone" on the violin, and years to develop a great vibrato. Just thought someone might have advice regarding this. :)

Thank you.

Kallie, I am sure you are doing just fine and are being hypercritical. ( and in a big hurry ? :) )

Usually, being overcritical could be the explanation :P However this time it is a physical thing. Sometimes I just cant seem to do vibrato. The hand just wont move. How can I practice to overcome this? Does anyone else have those "weak" days? My vibrato also gets weaker the longer the practice session, however I think that is just due to the muscle not being properly developed yet. (Im right handed, so naturally the left arm is weaker)

View from left field.