Sign in to follow this  
luthier

Ancient violin ID

Hello to all.

The violin pictured has me puzzled. I think it's likely from the 1700's, or possibly earlier. Since a google search was of no help, I'd like to have your opinions on where this one originated. It has a hand written Stainer label, the date being very hard to read. I don't think it was made by Stainer.

post-24488-0-28747500-1387913295_thumb.jpg

post-24488-0-67673500-1387913372_thumb.jpg

post-24488-0-90045400-1387913434_thumb.jpg

post-24488-0-74997800-1387913506_thumb.jpg

post-24488-0-99579900-1387913555_thumb.jpg

post-24488-0-78896500-1387913613_thumb.jpg

Thanks for your input!

Since I am no expert I won't tell you what it is, but indeed it doesn't look anything like the real Stainer violins one can see on the web. What makes you think it is a very old violin?

Hello Robertdo, and happy holidays to all!

It's difficult to make any age determination by looking at some pictures on the computer screen. With the violin in hand though, it jumps out at you. It's the feel, the patina inside and out, the wear, the repairs, the graft, the weight at 360 grams as pictured (ebony fingerboard and fittings), and just plain old intuition.

Hi Omobono,

Which Albani are you referring to, as there were a lot of them? It's very interesting that you can see an early Brescian character in it. Can you elaborate on what leads you to that observation?

I think also that the "exaggerated" arching of the top (over 20mm?) might be a clue. A clue of what, I don't know, but I am certain JSaunders will tell you soon... :)

Hi troutabout,

There is one flat spot on the front of the scroll, which is a chip parallel with the grain, and not caused by wear or fake antiquing which you seem to be hinting at. It doesn't show very well in the picture, but the roughness in the flat area confirms this. There is some subsequent wear on the edges of the flat. There are a lot of small details that don't show well in the pictures.