Sign in to follow this  
joerobson

What...else...do you build?

Reading Stephen Faulk's thread on the Contemporary Makers' Forum got me thinking.  Many makers ...particularly a lot of the makers in Europe that I work with...make a variety of instruments.  Do you build other instruments...outside of the violin family?  Do you choose not to build other instruments?  Do you just build violin..viola...cello...bass? 

Why?

on we go,

Joe

Ebonics in the violin world...

The occasional uke, lap dulcimer, banjo and mandolin, but only for friends, and not for sale...I learned to make a dulcimer at Berea College when I was a student there, and found Harry Ramey, who had learned from Willis Gault in the 30's and 40's. 

I build guitars, mandolins, ukeleles, sleds, biscuit trays, or Dewey Decimal library card cabinets, if the down payment clears!

Joking aside, a guitar every year or two clears the stiffness out of fiddle building. Restoration serves the same purpose-- you have to innovate and improvise now and then, to learn what you know.

The first stringed instrument I built was a harp. And I find making an occasional vielle (or other non-standard fiddle) helps, as Christopher said, to clear the stiffness out. Building something a little less hemmed in by rules and standards becomes both relaxing and invigorating. 

I learned to work wood properly with a luthier in the Azores, he made "Violas da Terra" primarily as well as did vast repair work on anything string related with great skill (very clean bridge work on violins and even cellos, I still have his bridge on my 3/4 and practice fiddle as nothing can be improved). I've made about six Violas da terra as well as an azorean "cavaquinho" uke under his supervision and direction :)

I might just get back to making those for fun while I wait for my seminars to begin, would be a nice to build something simple without all the restrictions a violin imposes :) They sound really good also and are a joy to build!