Sign in to follow this  
Rue

How do eBay auctions work?

I am not an eBayer (hate on-line shopping, like to see stuff before I purchase it, hate S&H fees and unexpected Customs fees, *blahblahblah*)...but there are a few items I'm currently purchasing through "Buy Now" on eBay to (stuff I can't find easily or locally)...so I'll see if I find it a useful venue.  So, in other words, I'm new at this.

While I'm making these purchases - and to scratch a long-standing itch, I have been trying to buy an instrument from China.  So it can't be too expensive.  Hence I'm trying the auction route.

I can't for the life of me win a bid.  I've been doing this for 2 weeks now and have bid on over 7 instruments from different sellers.  I get beat out at the very last nanosecond every single time.

Are these auctions rigged?  Or does someone actually sit - on every auction - with their finger hovering over the bid button...and they all have faster internet than I do?

Since it's an auction you are bidding against hundreds, thousands or more buyers (ebay has probably ten or hundred millions potential buyers or sellers). So I am afraid there s nothing strange in bidding on 7 instruments and being outbid on all of them... :)

As for the last second, many people will simply set a maximum they wish to pay. So their bid will automatically be updated immediately after yours if it's higher. Again, nothing rigged there.

No...it's not the being outbid part I don't get...it's the being outbid at the '0' second count, when I've been the high bidder until that point. :ph34r:

It's called "sniping"...that is waiting til the last second. It's better to decide how much you are willing to spend and bid that amount and then let Ebay bid automatically for you. It's still a shootout if there are a lot of bidders.

Sniping...lol. :blink:   The things I don't know about.  So, if you're still trying to get a bargain...what would your high bid be?  Just below the 'Buy it now" price?