Sign in to follow this  
Absilon

Violin retouching/touch-up varnish and dyes

I am new to violin restoration and have purchased a number of old violins recently which I have been working on restoring. I'm now at the point where I need to perform some retouching/touch-up work on the varnish but am overwhelmed by the number of different and sometimes conflicting information that I have read online.

From what I have read in other forum posts, it looks like most people use a spirit varnish almost exclusively for touch-ups, even on an oil-varnished instrument. Is this perfectly safe to do on an oil varnished violin? Also, what is the best way to tell if an old violins varnish is oil or spirits based?

I'm also wondering if anyone can recommend any specific varnish and dye products that I can use for this purpose. I am trying to avoid cooking my own varnish at least until I have more experience with varnishes. I have been leaning towards using Behlen Violin Varnish but I have read that it takes a very long time to dry and I would like to avoid this issue as I can't wait weeks between each coat.

Lastly, does anyone have any experience with TransTint dyes?

Thank you in advance and best regards.