Sign in to follow this  
Rick Hyslop

Video on Strad Graduation Punch

A little maybe, I have asked this before. Unless you are going to massproduce violin plates I do not see why to have one, besides nice to have tool. It could save me 30 min per plate or something.

How do you see it?

I just think it is useful, foolproof and allows for quick removal of wood without having to measure all the time. Maybe though after making many violins it just becomes instinctive. I am still pretty new to making.

r.

A little maybe, I have asked this before. Unless you are going to massproduce violin plates I do not see why to have one, besides nice to have tool. It could save me 30 min per plate or something.

How do you see it?

I see depth drilling or punching as being worth way more than 30 minutes per plate, mass-produced or not.

I see depth drilling or punching as being worth way more than 30 minutes per plate, mass-produced or not.

Do you use a punch or a drill press David ? I have used my drill press as a punch with a nail in the chuck and rounded off dowel jig below the plate. I think it was Don Noon who suggested that. Now I want to build this machine because it looks more elegant.

r.

Hi all, and I'm honoured that my video arouse interest on this reputable forum.

For me the only purpose in the use of this tool is to look more deeply in the way the "old guys" approach the thickness of the plate.

Of course if someone look for mass produced plates a drill press is much better but also noisy and risky for my taste and definitely not my goal.......

Old hand tool is a joy to use and always teach somethings to genuine hand workers and, as rightly said Rick Hyslop, looks far more elegant than a drill press on your bench!!!

Anyway a very efficient tool that worth the effort of making.

Davide

P.S. I offer my sincere apologies for my bad english

Welcome to Maestronet, Davide!

My full size pattern is here: Stradivari graduation punch...