Sign in to follow this  
C.LeQuanViolins

Drill for bow maker

They are indeed hand made. Contact one of the bow makers trained in the French tradition, like  Noel Burke. They probably know who makes them and how much they cost. I think they are made in batches by someone who does it as a sideline. 

Hi ! I'm new on this forum, my name is Clement and I'm a student at the Newark Violin Making school 

I want to do bow making and I'm looking for this drill for drilling the faceplate, those ones http://www.altmanbows.com/bow_drill.jpg

Do you know where can I get one ? Or are they handmade ?

Thank you !

The unit in the link photo was made by my friend Micheal Hattala & myself.  Here's the short story:

While working at Tomachot's in Paris in the '90s, Mike took measurements & photos of Stephane's foret à archet, and suggested we make a few for ourselves & our teachers, which we did.  I did the drawings, the split pattern for the castings and made the drive line parts.  Mike knew a foundryman (who was a violinist!), had the castings made, machined them and assembled the forets.  In answer to demand, we produced a couple batches of them over the years for colleagues.  The foundryman (now over 80) finally decided to retire and chucked all the patterns in his shop, so that's the end of it.

BTW, the bow that supplies the horsepower for these things was traditionally a leftover fencing foil.  Universities & fencing clubs usually discard them after their useful life as a foil.  Just break off the extra length and heat up the end and bend it into a squiggle to hold the cord.  I use a discarded gut bass string for the cord.  If you can't find one of those, I'm told weed-whacker cord works okay.

Cheers,

~B~

Hi Clement,

you could also decide to make one yourself. The one in your picture is indeed very nice but it is also quite heavy, and one of the nice things regarding bowmaking is the ability to travel light...