Sign in to follow this  
Ben Podgor

Four violins by amateur who thinks he only should have two.

Over time I acquired four violins. Two when I first started, without a teacher. Added one with the help of a teacher and just acquired what I consider a true professional violin, built around 1790.  Since I am an amateur, I believe that two are enough.  But how does one recover the investment on the two.  All four of my violin have good tone.  The first two only cost $ 300 each.  I added pegheds to them, that cost me $ 150. each.  When I got my last violin I had the pegheds of one of my first two transfered.  Now I am left with two violins that I would like to sell.  One having a 300 value and the other one 450. These violins are Romanian and one is 10 years old and the other 12 years.

It was suggested I try E Bay.  Craigs list.  But I do not like either.  Can anyone suggest a way to accomplish this, without getting involved in the business of selling violins.

Ben

The Pegheads will decrease the value but a fiddler might not mind. Try your local Fiddle Club. They may have a newsletter you can advertise in.

Try to establish what the retail values of these instruments are, and then be prepared to accept about half that value or a bit less -- less, especially if the 2 need any work.

You might try going to a violin shop and trading in those fiddles, if the shop will accept them, for a shop credit, and maybe applying that credit to a good bow, a good case, or toward future sets of strings and accessories.

I believe you might have a hard time getting what you originally paid for them, never mind the extras you've put into them over the years.  Fine violins appreciate in value over the decades.  Beginner level violins simply keep losing their value over the years, just like any other used item in your possession.

Another option is to donate the fiddles to a school or a charity, if such a contribution would help you with taxes.