Sign in to follow this  
confusedone

First violin, choice.

Hey, still trying to buy my first violin. Looking for one around the 750-1000 price range.
Looking at a August Kohr k565 that I found for under $700. Does anyone have any other violin suggestions, or advice.

Con,

Before I write, what is your background?  Have you played for a while?  Do you have a teacher?  Do you have enough experience to judge how well a violin is set up?

Con,

Before I write, what is your background?  Have you played for a while?  Do you have a teacher?  Do you have enough experience to judge how well a violin is set up?

No to all, I am completely new to violins. 

OK,

In a way you are in a vulnerable situation, since it will be hard for you to judge what is good, better, or best for what you are spending.  If you are thinking of getting a teacher, I'd recommend you wait and ask for advice and help from him/her.  

In your case, the August Kohr ought to be a nice enough choice.  The only thing that I like to recommend is to use local shops if they seem good and if a player can try quite a few violins in his price range;  but in your case, unless someone advises you, playing a lot of violins might not help too much.

IMO, the above ways of buying will be MUCH BETTER AND SAFER than buying a violin from a private party or on line.  People often sell  violins that have problems—sometimes hidden—which might cost you a small fortune to fix.  Buying from a Core, or Shar, for example, or a shop should assure you won't have problems.

Hopefully some others will chime in too.  Maybe I've missed something.  Best of luck, and I hope you enjoy learning to play.

Well, welcome to our elite musical Eden, watch out for the serpents :)

You might look in at the player's forum here,  "The Fingerboard".  Players and teachers hang out over there.