O.H. Bryant Violins?

Hello,

There is an O.H. Bryant violin for sale on eBay with some pretty extravagant claims made for its sound quality. I don't play much myself, but have two sons who are both quite talented. I especially enjoy listening to them practice -- it makes me feel like royalty from three hundred years ago to have a private concert in my own house every evening! I'm just learning about violins, but have a very sensitive ear.

I've designed home stereo equipment professionally for the last 25 years, which is very much like building violins (or making wine) in that there are few (if any) measurements one can make that will tell you how something will sound. Instead, one must learn how to build good sounding equipment via a combination of trial-and-error, intuition, and spending a lot of time listening. The main difference is that with a stereo there is an objective goal we are trying to reacch -- recreating the sound of a live orchestra in your living room. I don't know that such a sstrict standard exists for the sound of violins, but clearly there is a widespread general agreement about which violins sound "good" versus which fiddlles don't sound so "good".

Back to the Bryant. From my online research it seemed up until about the turn of the millennium that the American fiddles sold quite cheaply. But over the last dozen years, the prices have climbed steeply. In 2000 one sold at a Skinner auction for around $2000 or so. By 2005 one needing major repairs sold for $6500, again at a Skinner auction. And now there is a fine violin shop in Boston that has three Bryants ranging from $14,000 to $18,500. (These may have come from a collector who sold his entire collection, primarily of American instruments to this music shop in 2009.)